Hunter Safety Course
ilearntohunt.com is a delegated provider for the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.
Get Texas Hunter Certified in 3 Steps
Pass the $49.95 Interactive Course
Learn and test your hunting knowledge while you venture through this fun, interactive hunter safety course. Hunters over the age of 17 also pay a $5.25 state fee.
Complete the Field Day
You are required to attend the Texas Field Day to complete your hunting safety certification if you are under the age of 17.
Get Your Texas Temporary Hunter Education Certificate
If you are 17 years of age or older, you can access your Temporary Hunter Education Certificate from tpwd.elementlms.com. If you are under 17 years of age, you will receive a temporary Temporary Hunter Education Certificate after completing your Field Day.
Why Take This Course?
|Texas–Approved hunter education|
|No minimum time requirements|
|Complete the course in under 3 hours|
Take your Hunter Safety Course with you!
Download the app!
Developed to support students, this app is the mobile component to the web-based course. Learn on the go and start earning your Texas Hunter Education Certificate wherever you are!
The Only Interactive Hunter Safety Course Approved by IHEA-USA and the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
This interactive course was developed in accordance with the standards set forth by IHEA-USA and meets the requirements of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.
Official course provider approved by:
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Road
Austin, TX 78744
The Hunter Education Card
The Hunter Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed the online component of the state-mandated hunter education requirements.
The Only Interactive Hunting Course
Texas-Approved Hunter Safety Education
Our interactive hunter safety course satisfies the online component of your hunter education requirements established by IHEA-USA and the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.
No Minimum Time Requirements
Students complete our interactive courses faster than our traditional courses. Why? There are no timers—ever!
Complete Your Hunter Education Quicker
Instruction that engages the brain using both words and images has been shown to significantly increase student retention and comprehension. When you combine interactive learning with no time requirements, it's easy to see why students are choosing this course!
Make choices for your character that will earn you awards and allow you to move through levels by applying what you’ve learned about hunter safety throughout the challenges.
We made sure to include plenty of realistic simulations to keep you engaged along the way. Earn achievement badges as you master trip planning, emergency preparation, and safety operations. Crack all the levels, and you will be awarded your Hunter Education Certificate.
Texas Hunting Laws and Regulations
Who is required to complete hunter education in Texas?
According to Texas law, all hunters must complete hunter education to hunt in Texas. Those 17 years of age and older must successfully complete an online course, while those under the age of 17 must also complete an in-person Field Day.
Is completion of the Texas state agency-approved course required to buy a license?
Yes, Texas requires that hunters complete a course approved by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and IHEA-USA before a license will be issued.
All U.S. states, Canadian provinces, and other countries that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept the Texas Temporary Hunter Education Certificate. Likewise, Texas will accept Hunter Education certifications that are issued by other jurisdictions that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as "reciprocity.")
Frequently Asked Texas Hunting Questions
Price and Payment
How much does the Texas ilearntohunt Course cost?
The Texas ilearntohunt Course fee is $49.95. Hunters over 17 will also pay a $5.25 Texas Parks and Wildlife Department fee.
Taking the Course
Do you need Texas hunter education?
You need hunting education to purchase a hunting license in Texas. According to Texas law, all hunters must complete hunter education to hunt in Texas. Those 17 years of age and older must successfully complete an online course, while those under the age of 17 must also complete an in-person Field Day.
What is the minimum age to take this online course?
You must be at least 9 years old to take this online course.
Do I have to be a resident to take the Texas ilearntohunt Course?
You do not have to be a resident of Texas to take this online course.
Course Approval and Acceptance
Is the Texas ilearntohunt Course approved by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department?
The Texas ilearntohunt Course is approved and accepted by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.
Is my Texas Hunter Education Certificate accepted elsewhere?
All U.S. states, provinces, and other countries that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept the Texas Hunter Education Certificate. Likewise, Texas will accept Hunter Education certifications that are issued by other jurisdictions that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Quizzes and/or Exams
Do I have to take an online exam?
The Hunter Education Certification Exam is the exam you take at the end of the online course. You must score at least 75% on the exam to pass. You have unlimited attempts to pass the exam. If you don’t complete the exam in one session, don’t worry. When you log in later, you will be taken to the first unanswered question of the exam.
About Your Certification
What is the proof of online Texas ilearntohunt Course completion?
Once you pass and pay for the online course, you will be able to immediately print your proof of online completion and/or request that a PDF be emailed to you.
If you are under 17 years of age, you will need to bring this document with you to your Field Day.
What is the permanent Texas Hunter Education Certificate?
The Hunter Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all the hunter education requirements and allows you to legally purchase a hunting license in Texas.
If you are 17 years or older, you can access your permanent Hunter Education Certificate from https://tpwd.elementlms.com/ and then clicking the “Am I Certified?” button. The certificate will be available within 10 days.
If you are under 17 years of age, you will receive the Hunter Education Certificate from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department after you successfully complete the Field Day.
Replacement of Lost or Damaged Documents
How do I replace my Hunter Education Certificate if I’ve lost it or it has been damaged?
To replace a lost, destroyed, or damaged Hunter Education Certificate, go to https://tpwd.elementlms.com/am-i-certified/.
Your ilearntohunt course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you:
Monday - Friday 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM CST and
Saturday - Sunday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM CST
1-800-830-2268 (toll free)